DEVS Ph.D. Dissertation Award

The 5th DEVS Modeling and Simulation Ph.D. Dissertation Award

Submission deadline:
*** EXTENDED to January 31st ***

This award has been created in order to recognize and reward the best Ph.D. Thesis related to the DEVS Modeling and Simulation formalism.

The objective of the award is to promote all aspects of the DEVS formalism, to encourage the application of fundamental research to applied work in industry, and the work done both in larger research centers and in smaller laboratories. The purpose of this award is to stimulate and motivate young scientists by rewarding them, and to inform the DEVS community with excellent research.

A panel of academics and researchers will select one of the theses defended during the academic year to receive this award. The criteria considered by the jury to select the winners include the originality of the results, the originality of the field and the methods used, and the importance and impact of results.

The theses should be in English. If they’re in a different language, the author should submit a 10-pages summary of the thesis and any related papers published (in English) to make easier the judging of the ideas by people in different parts of the world.

The theses must to have been defended between September 2014 and September 2015.

The awards ceremony will take place during the Symposium On Theory of Modeling and Simulation (formerly known as the DEVS Integrative M&S Symposium), TMS’16


  • Bernard P. Zeigler (Honorary Chair and Founder), University of Arizona, USA
  • Samuel Toma (DEVS PhD Awardee), Université de Corse, France

Committee Members

  • Federico Bergero, CIFASIS- CONICET, Argentine
  • Rodrigo Castro (DEVS PhD Awardee), University of Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Phil Hammonds (B.P. Zeigler Awardee), Northrop Grumman, USA
  • Moonho Hwang (B.P. Zeigler Awardee), DS Delmia Corp, USA
  • Ernesto Kofman, Universidad Nacional de Rosario, Argentina
  • Qi (Jacky) Liu (DEVS PhD Awardee), GE Global Research Center, Niskayuna, NY, USA
  • Alexandre Muzy (B.P. Zeigler Awardee), Université de Corse, France
  • Hessam Sarjoughian (B.P. Zeigler Awardee), Arizona State University, USA
  • Mamadou Seck, TU Delft, Netherlands
  • Mamadou K. Traoré (B.P. Zeigler Awardee), Université Blaise Pascal, Clermont-Ferrand, France
  • Lin Uhrmacher, Universität Rostock, Germany
  • Hans Vangheluwe, University of Antwerp, Belgium
  • Gabriel A. Wainer (B.P. Zeigler Awardee), Carleton University, Canada

Submission deadline
December 15th, 2015 EXTENDED to January 31st

Notice: compact(): Undefined variable: limits in /var/www/msdl/conferences/tmsdevs/2016/wp-includes/class-wp-comment-query.php on line 853

Notice: compact(): Undefined variable: groupby in /var/www/msdl/conferences/tmsdevs/2016/wp-includes/class-wp-comment-query.php on line 853

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /var/www/msdl/conferences/tmsdevs/2016/wp-includes/class-wp-comment-query.php on line 405

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Symposium on Theory of Modeling and Simulation '16